Sending result of a report in a FILE
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sending result of a report in a FILE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    10

    Talking

    I want to store result of a report in a FILE .
    My problem is that my lines have more than 80 characters
    and REPORT BUILDER breaks line after fetch 8o characters
    in each line .

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    You may do following:

    in module level open property pallete and set -->
    Design in character units = YES

    open Layout in navigator, for each section (header, body and traler) set:

    report width = XX
    report height = XX
    in characters,

    in system parameters (DATA MODEL) set:

    DESTYPE = File
    DESNAME = name_of_report_file

    and i hope that's it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    10
    We did all you said but it didn't make any difference in the
    result of our report .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    125
    HI

    use a printer definition file

    1 Set the DESFORMAT system parameter to the name of the printer definition file.

    2 Set DESTYPE to File and DESNAME to the name of the File.


    Past from D2K help

    A printer definition file acts like a translator for the printer. It contains printer codes that specify how to handle bolding, underlining, printing graphical characters used in lines/boxes, etc. Printer definition files are text files (e.g., ASCII, EBCDIC) that do not require any additional compressing or compiling before they can be used.
    Caution: Printer and terminal definitions are only needed when on character-mode platforms. They are not needed on bit-mapped platforms.



    Hope this will help you.


    Pitamber Soni


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    10
    We don't want to send it to printer, However we didn't understand what you exactly said.

    Thank you and best regards,
    Mehdi Maskoot

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    45
    In the object navigator --> Data model -->
    under system parameters node check the desformat parameter
    it must have been set to dflt change this to wide
    and run the report again

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    10
    Thank you for your suggestion.
    We want to have raw with 133 columns in our file.
    We did your suggestion and it become better, but we need
    a value maybe more than "wide" to desformat parameter.
    I will appreciate you if you introduce me a help for this topic.

    Thank you very much
    Mehdi Maskoot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Iran
    Posts
    10
    My problem hasn't been solved.
    I am looking forward to hearing from you , Please .

    Thank You.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width