db shutdown ? - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: db shutdown ?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Can you do the following on the terminal window and confirm the results:

    Code:
    svrmgrl
    SVRMGR> internal
    SVRMGR> shutdown immediate
    SVRMGR> host;
    $ > ps -ef|grep SID
    $ > exit
    SVRMGR> startup mount
    SVRMGR> host;
    $ > ps -ef|grep SID
    $ > exit
    SVRMGR> alter database open;
    SVRMGR > exit
    Let us know what happen, with the output including any error messages....

    Sam

    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Central U.S.
    Posts
    35
    What is not understood is that the INSTANCE is started, but not MOUNTED or OPENED. After the series of events listed the database has NOT been shutdown, so the processes will remain. Do NOT kill them from the operating system; connect via SVRMGRL as INTERNAL and issue a SHUTDOWN ABORT. You SHOULD see:

    Oracle instance shut down.

    NOW check your process list and you should not see any Oracle processes.

    To startup the instance do it in stages at this point (this is NOT necessary for every database startup, but it may prove helpful in this situation). Do the following:

    SVRMGR> connect internal
    Connected.
    SVRMGR> startup nomount
    .....
    SVRMGR> alter database mount;
    Statement processed. <--- the expected result
    SVRMGR> alter database open:
    Statement processed.

    This should help you in figuring out why the database cannot be mounted and opened.
    David D. Fitzjarrell
    Oracle Certified DBA

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    66
    No these processes do not exist when run from command line outside of the script.

    Why would the db not shutdown from the script?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    In you script
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/ksh -xv
    
    . ${HOME}/.profile 
    ORACLE_SID=${1} 
    export ORACLE_SID 
    ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/8.0.6/ 
    export ORACLE_HOME 
    PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/bin:$PATH;
    export PATH
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/lib; 
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    
    
    # Shutdown and startup database 
    $ORACLE_HOME/bin/svrmgr << EOF
    connect internal 
    shutdown immediate
    EOF 
    exit
    Check to see whether any processes are still running. give it some time and check for running processes. If you don't see any, then add the statement "startup" before the "EOF" and see whether it brings back the proceess as normal...

    Sam

    [Edited by sambavan on 11-07-2001 at 05:28 PM]
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Central U.S.
    Posts
    35
    I apparently misread your posting of the results of your startup restrict. It appeared that you had shutdown the instance, attempted to perform a startup restrict and left it at that without issuing another shutdown command.
    David D. Fitzjarrell
    Oracle Certified DBA

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    66
    I added PATH, and LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Still get 'ORA-01102: cannot mount database in EXCLUSIVE mode' and processes still running. Any other ideas?

    I actually did shutdown and restart after the startup restrict but did not include the output because it was redundant.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    66
    Not meaning to drag this issue but, anymore suggestions. Any idea's as to why in am in 'EXCLUSIVE mode' when accessing server manager from script?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    What seems to be happening in you case could be this. When you shutdown the database, the processes seems to hold some file system locks which are not getting released. As a result, the processes are awaiting for them to get released. I would now like to see you start and stop the instance explicitly mentioning the pfile= your_path/initSID.ora and see whether this would solve the problem for you....


    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    66
    I included pfile with the startup command in the script and unfortunately I received the same results: the following error command 'ORA-01102: cannot mount database in EXCLUSIVE mode'.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    does your script allow you to just stop and startup the database without any special modes? Also could you try the regular borne shell instead of the korne shell?

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width