Protocol Adapter Error? - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Protocol Adapter Error?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    I have Oracle Client from previous installation, I change Oracle home to my current one.

    Originally posted by reydp
    if you have set the ORACLE_SID ok, and your tnsnames is ok, then maybe there was a previous installation of ORACLE in your server and that you may need to edit some registry entry like oracle home, or oracle SID i'm not so sure.
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    I don't have an NT box to work on.

    But as far as I can remember, try this:
    invoke regedt32
    export /* save your current registry settings to a file for backup*/
    search for HOME0 or HOME1 /*alter the value of this field to be uniform with your current oracle home*/
    if there is ORACLE_SID or SERVICE_NAME /*alter it make it uniform to your current ORACLE installation*/

    Then try again.



  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    Yes, some problems with Listener it does not started just it ask me to wair forever ...
    ... NO listener ... in this case

    Thank you.

    Originally posted by aarroyob
    Did you try sqlplus "sys/change_on_install@sid as sysdba" ?
    Try it with " ".
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Ooops... sounds like your listener was just listener to other database, overlooked :-)

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    NO, I checked IP address.
    Thank you!

    Originally posted by reydp
    Ooops... sounds like your listener was just listener to other database, overlooked :-)
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    Thanks guys !!!
    It works now fine!
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    So could you please enlighten us on your solution?

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    Solution is:
    I reinsatll Oracle Server 3 times, after that I was able to start listener. I still getting error 'Protocol adapter error' when I am tring to connect to Server using svrmgrl, but I can connect and create database without problems using SQLPLUS and connect line:
    sqlplus "sys/change_on_install@sid as sysdba"
    Others methods does not work in my case.
    Thank you!

    Originally posted by sambavan
    So could you please enlighten us on your solution?
    Sam
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Is this the only install that you have on the system or do you also have other versions of oracle? One of the possible causes of your earlier poblems could be that your oraInventory could have been corrupted.

    -Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width