sql loader error
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: sql loader error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    78

    Red face

    Hai friends

    Please let me know what is wrong with the following control file
    load data
    infile *
    badfile 'c:\test\test.bad'
    discardfile 'c:\test\test.bad'
    append into table test1
    fields terminated by ',' optionally enclosed by '"'
    (INQ_NO integer,
    FNAME,
    LNAME,
    HOME_TEL "replace(:home_tel,'-')",
    WORK_TEL "replace(:work_tel,'-')",
    EMAIL,
    INQ_DATE date "yyyy-mm-dd",
    FIRST_FOLL date "yyyy-mm-dd",
    SEC_FOLL date "yyyy-mm-dd",
    NO_FOLL,
    INQ_TYPE,
    ATTENDED_BY,
    REMARKS,
    INQ_STATUS,
    MEDIA_ID
    )
    begindata
    2501,"Abcd","Efg","1112223333","","",2001-03-30,2001-04-03,2001-04-07,3,"Personal Visit","Aaaa","Good Came in today interested in e-business pre-emp will call us.askinf for Unix & oracle Not sure when & what course he will start told him C++ & java - 3 april","Employment News",1

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    What is the error you get?

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    78
    Hai Sam,

    ORA-01401: inserted value too large for column

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,203
    Do a

    DESC TEST1;

    Then, determine if the data you are trying to insert is longer than a value is allowed for a particular column.

    Cheers,
    OCP 8i, 9i DBA
    Brisbane Australia

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH, USA
    Posts
    378

    Talking possible solution


    LOOKS LIKE it's your 'remarks' field.
    you need to specify how many characters that field is going to be.
    edit your loader file to the length of that column like below:

    REMARKS char(2000),


    hope that works.
    - Magnus


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    21
    HI is your

    INQ_STATUS,
    MEDIA_ID

    the right way round the data is
    "Employment News",1

    Not sure what kind of descriptions you use for inq_status but Employment News appears to be a Media name.
    Grah,

    You'll always learn something if you take your time to ask.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width