How long to . .
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How long to . .

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    117

    Question

    Can someone give me a idea of how long it would take to backup 350 gigs of data ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    219
    It depends on many factors like:
    -- Number of devices being backup to
    -- Parallel backup
    -- Throughput of devices
    -- Hot or cold backup (Assuming DB)
    -- I/O contention
    -- CPU saturation

    @10MB/sec. I figured almost 600 minutes.

    How is that?
    ______________________
    Applications come and go,
    but the data remains!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    117
    is 10MB/sec a realistic number ? I am asking because I have heard numbers of 36 - 72 megs/sec


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    219
    It all depends on your hardware and configuration, but I have seen equipment run at 10MB/sec. What is the speed of your equipment.
    ______________________
    Applications come and go,
    but the data remains!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    117

    Unhappy equipment

    I have a sun E10k with 4 cpu my network (internal) is t1 speed.

    I am trying to create a "reporting instance" from a backup. My window to do this in is 5 hours. Do you think that I can backup and then restore for a reporting instance in 5 hours?

    [Edited by eyen on 10-12-2001 at 04:53 PM]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Your network will be your limiting factor. You can expect 1.544 Mbps or less going across a T1.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    219
    If you were to move it over the network, it would be way to slow. But if you use sneaker net and physically move disks/tapes, it my be faster than a network. The fastest would be to have an extra mirror and physically swap them. Just an idea.
    ______________________
    Applications come and go,
    but the data remains!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    If you're backing up to disk and restoring to disk on the same box, it shouldn't take long at all.

    Pls. explain what you are trying to do with enough details so we can adequately answer your question.
    Are you backing up over a network or to disk?
    How many tape devices do you have?
    What kind of tape device; DLT4, AIT, DLT7, DLT8, 8MM, 4MM?
    Is the reporting instance on the same box as the "prod" instance.
    Are the two boxes hooked up to the same disk array?
    Are you using RMAN?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width