MAKE PRD A COPY OF TST - HOW?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MAKE PRD A COPY OF TST - HOW?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865

    Question

    We have Oracle Applications 11.03 running on Oracle 8.0.5 on Sun Sparc Solaris 2.6.

    The Test database should be a copy of the Production database.

    Any ideas, suggestions about how to go about doing this? Those who have handled such situations in Oraapps please contribute.

    Thanks.

    With regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6
    Hi,

    For creating the Test instance for Apps.

    a.First take a file system backup of APPL_TOP or Application file system (if u want the application also)

    Restore it to the location where u want to create the test instance. And remember to change the name of TWO_TASK in the Env files. And the SID name in all the config files.

    b.Database backup (Cold or Hot) or Copy the Datafiles.

    Restore or Copy the datafiles and logfiles.Create a new init.ora for test instance like the Production one.And create the control file with the test sid name.

    OR

    Now u have a New AD Utilitie Adclone

    U can download from Metalink. This is only for Unix. The patch No. Is 190056.Its a perl script it will ask u few questions when u execute it. Answer those..

    Hope this gives u some idea.
    S.Navin
    ORACLE APPS DBA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Send me an email with the following subject line:
    FILE: appscloning.pdf
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    Hi

    Thanks Navin & Jeff for the input.

    Regards.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    44
    Originally posted by ksnavin
    Hi,

    For creating the Test instance for Apps.

    a.First take a file system backup of APPL_TOP or Application file system (if u want the application also)

    Restore it to the location where u want to create the test instance. And remember to change the name of TWO_TASK in the Env files. And the SID name in all the config files.

    b.Database backup (Cold or Hot) or Copy the Datafiles.

    Restore or Copy the datafiles and logfiles.Create a new init.ora for test instance like the Production one.And create the control file with the test sid name.

    OR

    Now u have a New AD Utilitie Adclone

    U can download from Metalink. This is only for Unix. The patch No. Is 190056.Its a perl script it will ask u few questions when u execute it. Answer those..

    Hope this gives u some idea.

    Hi Navin,

    If I am not wrong, Adclone can be run on 11i and not 11.0.3. Pl. correct me if I am wrong.

    Thanks,

    Sam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6
    HI,

    Yes Sam U r correct, I thought this to be 11i...

    Sorry abt that..
    S.Navin
    ORACLE APPS DBA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width