Rollback segment
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rollback segment

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    318
    In reference to Jmodics reply to the following thread

    http://www.dbasupport.com/forums/sho...?threadid=7525

    Do RBS are used while creating Stored Procedurs, as they are DDL. I am getting unable to extend rollback segment.... error when I try to create number of stored procedures.


    Thanks
    Sonali
    Sonali

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Yes they are ...

    To get out of the problem you can either increase the max extent limit on the RBS

    Code:
    ALTER ROLLBACK SEGMENT RBS0 
        STORAGE ( MAXEXTENTS UNLIMITED);
    Designate some RBS to be used in the session.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    ALTER ROLLBACK SEGMENT RBS0
    STORAGE ( MAXEXTENTS UNLIMITED);
    Some DBAs are for, and some against doing this. I am strongly against!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    quoted by julian:
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    quote:
    ALTER ROLLBACK SEGMENT RBS0
    STORAGE ( MAXEXTENTS UNLIMITED);


    Some DBAs are for, and some against doing this. I am strongly against!
    -----------------------------------------------------------

    Usually the reason is just to make sure that there
    can be no transaction fail due to maxextents limit.
    You can always maintain your rbs well anyway.
    And I think there is no liabilities if you just set it
    to unlimited.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    iB]
    And I think there is no liabilities if you just set it to unlimited.
    [/B]
    Yes, there is: a runway transactoion may "eat" all your free tablespace.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    318
    My problem is not how to increase the RB segment why is "Create Stored Procedure" using RB segement when it is a DDL ?
    What is stored in RB segment for creating a stored procedure ?
    If I am not wrong here, we cannot even rollback create stored procedure can we ?
    To Clarify again I am not executing procedure I am just creating a stored procedure.


    Thanks
    Sonali
    Sonali

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    What is stored in RB segment for creating a store procedure? Well, a bunch of new/updated records in a database dictionary.

    Can you ever "rollback" the creation/modification of stored procedure? No, never. DDL are executed with implict commit, so you can't roll it back.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    318
    Thanks for the reply

    Sonali
    Sonali

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width