OMS Error.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: OMS Error.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    147
    I am
    running OEM with Oracle8i (release 3, 8.1.7) on solaris 8.
    Here is the error.
    ...>oemctrl start oms
    OEMCTRL for Solaris: Version 2.2.0.0.0
    Copyright (c) 1998, 2000, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.
    Starting the Oracle Management Server...
    Could not connect to the OMS: possible error in the configuration file.

    Where is the configuration file of OEM/OMS? And how do I fix this problem?

    Thanks a lot!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Do you have the repository created for the OMS?

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    147
    Sam,

    It is my first 8i installation from the CD. So I'm not sure repository created or not. But I could run OEM in stand alone mode.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    run enterprise manaher configration assistant to create the repository

    $ emca

    Once after creating the repository, try starting your OMS and that should start

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    285
    Sam,

    I did a typical install(choose all the default options) of Oracle 8.1.7 on a Win2K server, and as far as I can tell, no repository has been created.

    When I just tried the comand 'emca', it is said 'emca' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. And the same thing happened to 'OEMCTRL'.

    So do I missing other stuff beside repository? And do we need to deinstall OEM and create repository when reinstall it? It is suggested by another thread in this forum.

    Thanks a lot!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    120

    not installed management server

    hi,
    you have probably not installed management server while installing 8i.

    please do a custom install and see to it.

    saurabh
    Saurabh Garg
    OCP 9i

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    147
    Sam,

    Thanks for your help. It is working now.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925

    Re: not installed management server

    Originally posted by saurabhg29
    hi,
    you have probably not installed management server while installing 8i.

    please do a custom install and see to it.

    saurabh
    I beleive that the typical install does include the OMS and OEM

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width