URGENT!!! Ora: Target Host Or Object Does not EXIST
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: URGENT!!! Ora: Target Host Or Object Does not EXIST

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    28
    Gurus,
    i have set up my listener at client side and tnsnames.ora at client side. I am using oracle 8.1.5. Clients are installed on the client machines. When i try to connect on the server with the same instructions in tnsnames.ora as in client side, it connects. But from the client's machine, it refuses...

    Please Advice...

    Thanks,
    Mohit.
    It's easy as long as you are on the RIGHT Track of MIND...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    467
    Try to ping the host. Listener is set up on the server and not the client.
    listener files are in $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin.

    Cheers
    Vinit
    Vinit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    28
    sorry, i have set up the listener on the server side only. I have also tried pinging. Even the TNSPING is working fine and giving me about 1370ms as time with ok. But still when i try to connect it says target or host object does not exist.

    Plz Advise...

    Thanks,
    Mohit.
    It's easy as long as you are on the RIGHT Track of MIND...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    What ORA error code do you get upon attempt to connect to the server?


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    SWEDEN
    Posts
    70
    What error message do you get?

    Can you show us the contents in your TNSNAMES.ORA file?

    How do you try to connect?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    28
    connect system/manager@

    ora-12545 Connect failed because target host or object does not exist

    CONTENTS OF TNSNAMES.ORA

    =
    (DESCRIPTION=
    (ADDRESS_LIST=
    (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=)(PORT=1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA=
    (SERVICE_NAME= )
    )
    )

    I hope this will help.

    Thanks,
    Mohit.
    It's easy as long as you are on the RIGHT Track of MIND...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    you should put values for host and service_name, else it won't work ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    467
    You've not mentioned the connect string.

    connect user/pw@db

    Similarly for your tnsnames -

    db=(DESCRIPTION=
    (ADDRESS_LIST=
    (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=hostname)(PORT=1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA=
    (SERVICE_NAME= db)
    )
    )
    This should solve your problem.

    Vinit

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    28
    th host names and the service names are there. I've even tried with the ip address and the global db_names. But still the same error persists. but the tnsping gives me result still unable to connect.

    Mohit.
    It's easy as long as you are on the RIGHT Track of MIND...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    52
    Make sure that you have started the correct listener.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width