Max number of instances on sun E450
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Max number of instances on sun E450

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    143
    Does anyone have any opinions on what the maximum number of instances on sun a E450 with 2gb of RAM should be. Im not sure how much the kernel parameters can be increased without causing problems.

    Basically the sys admin is of the opinion that all the databases should be placed on one or two boxes as opposed to spread over 4 or 5 and running on the same box as application servers etc. This is a development environment.

    [Edited by mb on 09-18-2001 at 06:38 AM]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    It depends on the workload.

    I run three instances on a Sun 450 with 1 GB. One of the instances is the recovery catalog. The other instances are used infrequently, but the performance is poor overall.

    It is less work for your sysadmin to manage fewer machines, but perhaps you can do a phased migration to determine if your organization can function with diminished Oracle performance.

    good luck.
    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by dknight
    It depends on the workload.
    I agree. I run 6 development instance on a box smaller than a E450. They are really small development db's, but perform OK becuase they are hooked up to a Fibre array and the box has 2G of RAM.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    143
    Thanks for the response.
    What about 10-15 instances with a RAID5 A1000?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Itīs RAM that is important unless your databases are BIG?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Originally posted by mb
    Thanks for the response.
    What about 10-15 instances with a RAID5 A1000?
    I would consider this to be a bit too much of a load ...

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,203
    I forsee a box being choked, and agree with PANDO. I mean 10 - 15 isntances, what are their SGA sizes, you might run out of RAM. I also depends on the type of databases running also. Are they CPU intensive? Will there be a lot of activiety on each instance?
    OCP 8i, 9i DBA
    Brisbane Australia

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width