error ora-03114 - using dbassist
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: error ora-03114 - using dbassist

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    8
    I am getting the error ora-03114 then using dbassist to create a db - any ideas??

    Andrew

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    At what point do you receive the error?

    The message indicates that you are not connected to Oracle.
    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    8

    get it

    when I try to create the DB

    I can do connect internal etc and it all works. Listeners are running

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    Are you on NT/Win2K and are you logged in with Administrator privileges?

    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    8
    nope Solaris 8 on a blade 100

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,203
    This is a crazy error. I got it consistantly when doing a install for Oracle 8.1.7 on an Solaris Box. The reason for it happening changed.

    Once, I installed Oracle 8.1.7.0.0, it completed succesfully, with a database. I removed the database. Applied the 8.1.7.1.0 patchset and tried to create a DB with dbassit.. and got that error. It did appear that I couldn't apply the patch and THEN create a database, but I could install 8.1.7.0.0 create a DB then upgrade the DB to 8.1.7.1.0.

    I ended up rebooting the server and I was able to create without a problem. Also, check you Solaris system kernal params and make sure they are set up correctly... or alt least are set up.

    Cheers,
    OCP 8i, 9i DBA
    Brisbane Australia

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    8
    I have tried rebooting and still no luck - I have tried clean install and still no luck

    Does anyone have suggested params for the etc/system file for a solaris 8 with 512mb memory???

    I have used the defaults from the oracle install guide but still no luck

    Andrew

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width