DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: select catalog role

Hybrid View

Unhappy

Hi,

Is there any bad implication of assigning a select_catalog_role to a development dba to a production database. Basically, my production dba is not willing to assign this role to me as it involves v$ views. As a development dba, I am supposed to monitor the users and the performance of the sql statements etc, (not all the time. But if there was a problem.)

Please let me know if any of you know about any problem assigning this role to someone who does not have dba privilege on the database.

Any suggestions / solutions would be appreciated.

Thanks

The Senior DBA should have full confidence on you.But once you are appointed as DBA whether it is production database or development database I don't see a reason why are not give a DBA role (system userid).you should be asking the userid which has the DBA role .If not i will not logon to that production database itself as a normal user itself.
    Radhakrishnan.M

We never had a problem . Some of our developers they do have the access , some are working on query optimization so they need to see some parameters and some v$view's . Basically they can't alter or recreate the system views or insert any rows into the system views ..Ask your Prod DBA for atleast one reason .. Being a supporting person you should get it ...

Raghu

Unhappy select catalog role

My production dba says assigning me 'select_catalog_role' could have potential performance issues on the database. Has anyone ever heard of such issues???

Hmmm, Interesting!!!

Did you make the How/Why/What question to him? Most of them uses the internal views.

Sam
    Thanx
    Sam

Life is a journey, not a destination!

Originally posted by padma
    Basically, my production dba is not willing to assign this role to me as it involves v$ views