Create Database from Export dump
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Create Database from Export dump

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    Hello Guys:
    I have a system up and running. A base system with default Tablespaces and so on IBM/RS6000 AIX machine. No new schemas are created and populated. But fully configured and set aside. The Oracle version is 817.. I did an export of the entire database and it is only 1.5MB..
    I want to be able to create another instance, say "test" from this export. What are the sequence of steps to follow so that I dont spoil the existing one..
    Thanks ST
    ---

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Create a testing instance using dbassist. Then do a full import into the testing using the previous exp.dmp .

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    So in the instance that I create with dbassist, I have to create the tablespaces and so on perfectly or is it OK..
    What about the layout. I am using OFA.
    /u01 through /u04 and so on..
    Thanks ST

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    You don't have to have the table spaces created on the exact volumes. It can be as you want. Since you follow the OFA your tablespace name would follow the instance name and there shouldn't be any confusion(s). Then import the db

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    what about pfile, init.ora parameters, when do you set up the sid and so on?? Will this be part of dbassist or should i have an environment file in place.. I am doing this on the same machine.. Thanks, ST

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    Well if you are doing imp full=y you need the file system same as the server where you exported from since imp will create the tablespace with datafile path same as the original server


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    But if you have the tablespaces created already and if you export with ignore=Y.

    http://www.oradoc.com/ora816/server....ch02.htm#25141

    You would not be able to use the same sid. The dbassist would create all those files for you.


    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width