archiver error ??
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: archiver error ??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586

    Exclamation

    Hi Team,
    any comments why i might get this error?
    thanks
    Jigar
    ARC0: Beginning to archive log# 1 seq# 290

    ********ARC0: Failed to archive log# 1 seq# 290

    ARC0: Beginning to archive log# 2 seq# 291
    Wed Jul 25 21:03:09 2001
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 292
    Current log# 3 seq# 292 mem# 0: /psc1ora01/ORACLEDATA/psc1/RDO3.log
    Current log# 3 seq# 292 mem# 1: /psc1ora02/ORACLEDATA/psc1/RDO3.log
    Wed Jul 25 21:03:09 2001
    ARC1: Completed archiving log# 1 seq# 290
    ARC1: Beginning to archive log# 2 seq# 291
    **********ARC1: Failed to archive log# 2 seq# 291
    "High Salaries = Happiness = Project Success."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Is your archived log destination full?
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586
    The mounpoint is never full because my rman hotbackup cleansup the mounts daily.
    "High Salaries = Happiness = Project Success."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    193
    i got some similar error recently.
    can somebody help us?
    guru is on the way!!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    193
    is that possible that my machine is io boundary ,
    so i get that error?

    guru is on the way!!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    There are many reasons why Archive process failed to archive log file:

    1 REDO LOG may be small, so that frequent switch occurs. When ARCH works slowly and LGWR writes fast, this error may appear. Solution is: increase the size of the REDO LOG.

    2 If the REDO files are mirrored (duplexed) and they are kept in RAID, then also ARCH process will fail because when one of the REDO Log is filled, Oracle instructs ARCH process to start archive. Immediatley, ARCH process tries to read the 2nd member of the REDO LOG file, which is not yet written (completed) by the DISK controller. Hence, ARCH process fails. To over come, do not keep the redo log files in RAID DISK ARRAYS, keep them non-mirrored (striped ) disk.

    3.Avoid both SW level and HW level mirroring of redo log files. One level of mirroring is sufficient for operating a database.

    4 If the you operate a VLDB and there are more than 40 disks in the disk array system, keep atleast 6 disks for REDO alone. The rest 34 can be configured for RAID 1+0 or RAID 5.




    [Edited by tamilselvan on 08-08-2001 at 03:04 PM]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    41
    jigar mein tane email kari che
    Best Regards,
    Harsh Shah

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by hbk_emp
    jigar mein tane email kari che
    Most definitely! ( I think, anyway... )
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width