Control Files
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Control Files

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    Hi,

    when using a recovery catalog is the following correct. After you have taken a full hat backup in archivelog mode I have wiped the hard dirve to test my recovery plan. I have the info in the recovery catalog, the backup file, and a backup of the control file. I reinstall Oracle 8.1.7, recreate the instance using the original scripts to the original locations. Now do I need to copy the backed up control file over the newly created control file or can I use the newly created ones?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    During a hot backup you do not 'copy' the controlfile.

    'alter database backup controlfile to trace' is a command that creates a file that can be used to recreate the controlfile in its current state.

    So I think you can probably use new ones yes. You cannot use a copy of the controlfile unless you performed a cold backup.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    So why when I register the new instance I get a new DBID which is not recogonized by RMAN and therefore cant recover the files?

  4. #4
    The recovery manager is looking to recover into the same database.

    I'm hoping someone can help you with this.

    I do all my recoveries manually and it's never plain sailing. Sorry I can't help you more.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    Yes this is my problem, when I recreate the instance with the exact same scripts the recovery manager never sees that it is the same database because when I register the newly created instance it gets a new DBID, this is my problem and its very annoying.

  6. #6
    If you have access to the Oracle Technology Network then this might help you.

    http://otn.oracle.com/docs/products/...onc.htm#438314


    If you dont i'll copy and paste everything into an e-mail and send it to you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    Thanks, one other thing, should you be able to connect to an instance after a shut down immediate command? I assume no.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    For example in the step 2 below, is this run from RMAN or from SVRMGRL?

    1 -Start RMAN and connect to the target database and, optionally, the recovery catalog database. For example, enter:

    % rman target / catalog rman/rman@rcat



    2- If the database is open, shut it down and then mount it:

    shutdown immediate;
    startup mount;



    3 - After allocating channels, restore the database:

    run {
    allocate channel ch1 type disk;
    allocate channel ch2 type disk;
    allocate channel ch3 type disk;
    restore database;
    }


  9. #9
    I would say step 2 can be ran from svrmgrl and after issuing a shutdown immediate users can't log on.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    So that would mean that step 1 would have to be run again? Not very good instructions

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width