change archive log location
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: change archive log location

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    245
    my instance has 2 archive log dest:
    log_archive_dest =/ora1/arch/arch.log
    log_archive_duplex_dest=/ora2/arch/arch.log

    now I need to move them to different location without shutdown the instance
    move /ora1/arch/arch.log to /ora1/arch/DBA1/arch.log
    move /ora2/arch/arch.log to /ora2/arch/DBA1/arch.log
    could someone tell me the syntax

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    314
    How about:

    ALTER SYSTEM SET log_archive_dest='/ora1/arch/DBA1/arch.log'

    and,

    ALTER SYSTEM SET
    log_archive_duplex_dest='/ora2/arch/DBA1/arch.log'


    Both LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST and LOG_ARCHIVE_DUPLEX_DEST are dynamic parameters - you don't need to shut down the instance to modify there values.


    -amar

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    Will the init***.ora file be updated automatically or will he have to change that as well?
    MH

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    The init.ora file will most definitely NOT be updated. When the instance is bounced it would revert back to the old values (different in 9i BTW)
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    245

    do I have to issue
    alter system archive log current

    before switch to the new location?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    635
    Hi

    As Jeff surely it will not update the init.ora file you will have to change the init.ora file setting and bounce the database to make those changes permanent.

    Yes do a alter system archive log current before you switch

    Regards
    Santosh

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    245

    thanks I tried it works but I read from some place, I can use

    alter system archive log stop;
    alter system archive log start to 'new locatin';

    does this work? if yes, how I switch the 2nd archive log location?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width