32-bit vs 64-bit oracle
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 32-bit vs 64-bit oracle

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    Hi.. What is the difference betn a 32-bit oracle vs 64-bit oracle installation. Is it simply the o/s I should look at or something else.. Thanks, ST

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    344
    It is both a different OS and different Oracle software.

    You can see if you are running 64 bit oracle with this
    query :

    select * from v$version;

    If it is 64 bit, you will see '64bit' somewhere in the
    result set. Otherwise you have 32 bit Oracle.

    -John
    http://www.ezsql.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    Use Oracle 64-bit if your SGA requires a size > 4GB. Otherwise, stick with the 32-bit version. As jdorlon suggested, each is a seperate piece of software. Typically, the 64-bit version is behind the 32-bit version for new releases and bug fixes.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    Is it also dependant on the application. This is my result set.. With what you mean is ORCL sells 32 bit and 64 bit seperately.

    SQL> select * from v$version;

    BANNER
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Oracle7 Server Release 7.3.3.3.0 - Production Release
    PL/SQL Release 2.3.3.3.0 - Production
    CORE Version 3.5.3.1.0 - Production
    TNS for IBM/AIX RISC System/6000: Version 2.3.3.0.0 - Production
    NLSRTL Version 3.2.3.0.0 - Production

    I don't see it here..

    Thanks, ST

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by st2000
    With what you mean is ORCL sells 32 bit and 64 bit seperately.
    In other words, you would get 2 cd packs, one for 32 bit, one for 64-bit.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    344
    If you don't see '32' or '64', you have 32.

    Yes, Oracle sells both 32 bit and 64 bit separately.

    The application that accesses the database does not matter. You could have 16,32,and 64 bit applications all accessing the same database.

    -John
    http://www.ezsql.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    Excellent guys..
    THANKS FOR LIGHTNING SPEED RESPONSES...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width