Cannot create database link
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Cannot create database link

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Kolkata- India
    Posts
    356

    Question

    Hi! All,

    I have one database instance(8.1.7) on w2k and the other on Solaris (8.1.6)
    When I creating a database link from w2k to solaris it is giving the following error

    SQL> create public database link epro connect to epro1 identified by epro1 using 'epro';

    Database link created.

    SQL> desc company@epro
    ERROR:
    ORA-02019: connection description for remote database not found

    My net connect is working fine here because from w2k sqlplus I can connect to solaris Database.

    Any ideas??
    There Nothing You cannot Do, The problem is HOW.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    sure you have epro not epro.world in your tnsnames.ora ??
    I know I once had a problem (but it was between 7 and 8i) : desc couldn't be done, but selects worked fine. if you do :
    select * from company@epro, what do you get ???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    188
    Hey
    take never the db alias. Take the right db-name. look therefor in the init.ora of the db on the solaris.

    I hope than it will run
    Best Regards
    Thomas Schmidt

    Thomas_Schmidt@eplus-online.de
    If you have no aims, you will never reach a goal !!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Kolkata- India
    Posts
    356
    Hi!
    I played safe the alias name and the database name is same i.e epro
    I tried out
    select * from company@epro;
    It gave the following error

    SQL> select * from company@epro;
    select * from company@epro
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-02085: database link EPRO.US.ORACLE.COM connects to EPRO

    Then I tried
    SQL> create public database link epro connect to epro1 identified by epro1 using 'EPRO.US.ORACLE.COM';

    and it gave the following error
    SQL> select * from company@epro;
    select * from company@epro
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-12154: TNS:could not resolve service name

    Guys DB link used to simple in Oracle7.
    There Nothing You cannot Do, The problem is HOW.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    sure but since then Oracle Names has come out !!!
    ahh good ol' 7 time )
    with names, isn't a DB*Link supposed to have exactly the name of the db it references ???
    do you have something in your sqlnet.ora file ?? I mean if you do not work for Oracle, epro should not reference epro.us.oracle.com, guess you have to define something like db_domain=world ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Kolkata- India
    Posts
    356
    I am not using Oracle Names server and my db_domain is as default, I have not changed it. So on default config it should work
    There Nothing You cannot Do, The problem is HOW.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    There's also a bug in db_links where you can't describe a table across a db_link, but you can select count(*) across that link...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Kolkata- India
    Posts
    356
    Well now I got the following error

    SQL> select count(*) from company@epro;
    select count(*) from company@epro
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-02085: database link EPRO.US.ORACLE.COM connects to EPRO
    There Nothing You cannot Do, The problem is HOW.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    creating the link with name EPRO.US.ORACLE.COM probably slvesyour last error

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    it's strange to have US.ORACLE.COM as domain, it looks like a default value, but I think this is the problem ... guess it comes from sqlnet.ora

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width