Imp
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Imp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    Hi,
    I had 2 databases on my d/b server..of which 1 I removed....
    Now I just shutdoen my database.....and whn i try to again mount it..it says that it cannot find the parameter file of the datatabse I deleted..
    why would it need the parameter file of the deleted db when i want o start the xisting database?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    what command do you use ??
    are you under Unix ?? if yes, check your ORACLE_SID env variable

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    It giveas a null values.....
    how do i set it to the current oracle instance?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    export ORACLE_SID=...

    where ... is the name of your instance (look in init.ora file)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    Hi
    thanx.......

    Another problem
    i did an immediate shut down..it just seemed to hang..
    then i just used cntl c to exit...
    and again ewhen i connect to server manger an dtry to shutdown it says...not connect to oracle..and when i try to connect it says..shutdowen immediate in progress.....

    seems caught betwwen devil and deep sea

    thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    just open another session of svrmgrl, and do a shutdown abort, then restart your db (for it to make a crash recovery), and just shutdown immediate again to have a clean stop (it should not hang since you'll have nobody connected to your database)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    Thanx pipo....
    U r the greatest

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    Another questionI did the same..it wouked the fisrt time

    But now when i give shutdoenabort...
    then startup it gives me

    ORA-01102: cannot mount database in EXCLUSIVE mode

    wahst this and what o i do?

    Thanx

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    I have 2 insytances running on same sever
    its giving me alotsa problem............

    Is it unadvisable to run 2 instances on same server?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by helpme
    Another questionI did the same..it wouked the fisrt time

    But now when i give shutdoenabort...
    then startup it gives me

    ORA-01102: cannot mount database in EXCLUSIVE mode

    wahst this and what o i do?

    Thanx
    When you shutdown abort, you guarantee that you will have to do instance recover upon the next startup. If you are going to mount your database in exclusive mode make sure you shutdown immediate or normal first.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width