Connection manager
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Connection manager

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    150
    Hi
    Do i need to congifgure the MTS and a seperate server in order to use the connection manager.

    UKDBA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    You don't NEED to run connection manager on a seperate server. However, the benefits of connection multiplexing and pooling wouldn't make much sense if they were on the same box.

    MTS is needed to take advantage of Multiplexing and Pooling. However, If you just want a connetion gateway with dedicated servers, connection manager will work.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    150
    At the moment i am testing it on NT and database server and connection manager are both on the same machine. what port i should use for cman and database for NT.

    In my cman.ora i have these parameters

    CMAN = (ADDRESS_LIST=
    (ADDRESS=
    (SERVICES=CMAN)
    (PROTOCOL=tcp)
    (HOST=10.1.39.2)(PORT=1630)
    )
    )

    cman_admin = (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=10.1.39.2)(PORT=1650))

    cman_profile = (parameter_list=
    (MAXIMUM_RELAYS=1024)
    (LOG_LEVEL=1)
    (TRACING=no)
    (RELAY_STATISTICS=yes)
    (SHOW_TNS_INFO=yes)
    (USE_ASYNC_CALL=yes)
    (AUTHENTICATION_LEVEL=0)
    (REMOTE_ADMIN=FALSE)
    )





    But when i typed cmctl start cm i received this error message
    TNS-04039: CMCTL: error while spawning a process

    and when i typed cmctl start admin i received the following message
    TNS-04018: CMCTL: missing Connection Manager name, admin_admin, in cman.ora


    I have also set the USE_CMAN in sqlnet.ora of client and also add (source_route=on) in tnsnames.ora of server.

    i have never used it before to i am naive about this . can someone help me on this problem.
    Thanks
    UKDBA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    150
    I really need help on this topic.
    UKDBA

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    150
    I really need help from moderator on this topic .
    UKDBA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Your setup looks OK.

    The error you are receiving points to OS resources as being the problem.

    I setup CMAN by using:
    http://metalink.oracle.com/metalink/...p_id=1030314.6
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    150
    Thanks Jeff
    But i could not acces that file on metalink.Could you please email me on

    ajwat@hotmail.com
    I will appreciate asap
    UKDBA

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    It looks like Oracle has dropped this document. I will search for something similar...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    150
    I have found some documents on metalink but didn't help me so if you have a copy of that document then it will be more beneficial as you have used it before.
    Thnaks
    UKDBA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width