Question - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: Question

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    How about issuing the backup command from the recovery catalog system?

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    I have ran the following from the RMAN on the recovery catalog machine.

    C:\>rman target=sys/manager@zgts-cluster2" rcvcat="rman/rman@rman"

    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.7.0.0 - Production

    RMAN-06005: connected to target database: PICIS_DB (DBID=1703831024)
    RMAN-06008: connected to recovery catalog database

    RMAN> run {
    2> allocate channel ch1 type disk;
    3> backup
    4> format='h:\backup\%t.%d.%s%p'
    5> database;
    6> release channel ch1;
    7> }

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: allocate
    RMAN-03023: executing command: allocate
    RMAN-08030: allocated channel: ch1
    RMAN-08500: channel ch1: sid=10 devtype=DISK

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: backup
    RMAN-03023: executing command: backup
    RMAN-08008: channel ch1: starting full datafile backupset
    RMAN-08502: set_count=7 set_stamp=433014618 creation_time=21-JUN-01
    RMAN-08010: channel ch1: specifying datafile(s) in backupset
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00007 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_RT_INDXS.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00008 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_RT_DATA.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00010 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_CARE_INDXS.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00009 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_CARE_DATA.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00012 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_COMMON_INDXS.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00001 name=F:\ORACLE\ORA817\DATABASE\SYSPICIS.ORA
    RMAN-08011: including current controlfile in backupset
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00002 name=F:\ORACLE\ORA817\DATABASE\PCS_TEMP01.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00011 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_COMMON_DATA.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00013 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_LABS_INDXS.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00014 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_LABS_DATA.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00015 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_PREOP_DATA.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00016 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_PREOP_INDXS.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00017 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_EXTERNAL_DATA.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00018 name=D:\ORACLEDATA\PCS_EXTERNAL_INDXS.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00019 name=F:\RMAN\RMANDATA.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00003 name=F:\ORACLE\ORA817\DATABASE\PCS_RBS_01.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00004 name=F:\ORACLE\ORA817\DATABASE\PCS_RBS_02.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00005 name=F:\ORACLE\ORA817\DATABASE\PCS_RBS_03.DBF
    RMAN-08522: input datafile fno=00006 name=F:\ORACLE\ORA817\DATABASE\PCS_RBS_04.DBF
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03007: retryable error occurred during execution of command: backup
    RMAN-07004: unhandled exception during command execution on channel ch1
    RMAN-10035: exception raised in RPC: ORA-19504: failed to create file "h:\backup\433014618.PICIS_DB.71"
    ORA-27040: skgfrcre: create error, unable to create file
    OSD-04002: unable to open file
    O/S-Error: (OS 5) Access is denied.
    RMAN-10031: ORA-19624 occurred during call to DBMS_BACKUP_RESTORE.BACKUPPIECECREATE


    I get the exact same error, are my rman commands correct?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Are you in an MTS setup? If so your service names are again dedicated or MTS. If they are of MTS change them to dedicated by modifying the tnsnames.ora. add the following after (service= ...)(SRVR=DEDICATED). From the error, what I could see is that the problem could mostly on the file permissions on the directory. Give me some time to check into things...

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    O'k I will try to explain you what the problem is:
    Example:
    1) you have 2 machines (M1,M2)
    2) M1 has DB, M2 has Rec. Cat.;
    3) M1 has HDs(C);
    4) M2 has drives (C,D,H);
    5) M2 has only ONE HD, why are you trying to save your backup on D drive ? NO DRIVE D on M1! DB doesn't has D drive at all.
    6) RMAN saves backup on those machine where DB is.
    Is everything clearly for you?
    Best wishes!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    I will check the MTS thing, but i have just ran some more backup commands from the recovery catalog machine and this time I have no specified a location yet it still saved the backup to the target machine, is this normal?


    Thanks

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    It is fine because you will not be able to save it on Rec. Cat. machine if no Network Drivers. You may save it on tape as well.

    Originally posted by Diggers12
    I will check the MTS thing, but i have just ran some more backup commands from the recovery catalog machine and this time I have no specified a location yet it still saved the backup to the target machine, is this normal?


    Thanks

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    Hi,

    could you clarify the no network drivers statement?

    thanks

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    Sorry, Network drive (HD)

    Originally posted by Diggers12
    Hi,
    could you clarify the no network drivers statement?
    thanks

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    142
    Ok for me.

    on (H1) I have 3 physical drives. C,E and F
    on (H2) i have 2 physical disks C and D.

    so what should I do? Can I make a back to C on the recovery catalog machine?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    Yes you can if you create network drive H on DB machine which will be reference on drive C of Rec. Cat. machine.

    Originally posted by Diggers12
    Ok for me.
    on (H1) I have 3 physical drives. C,E and F
    on (H2) i have 2 physical disks C and D.
    so what should I do? Can I make a back to C on the recovery catalog machine?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width