oracle start up problem
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: oracle start up problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    46

    Red face

    pls. helpme
    oracle is giving the error saying that oracle is not avialable.
    yester day it is working fine.today it is giving error.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    Check Unix environment if you have wrong ORACLE_SID parameter you get this error. Fro example instance name is 'demo' and ORACLE_SID='' you get the error.
    ORACLE_SID must be = 'demo'
    Best wishes!

    Originally posted by ravisanapala
    pls. helpme
    oracle is giving the error saying that oracle is not avialable.
    yester day it is working fine.today it is giving error.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    9
    Hi,
    Let me know your OS, Oracle Version. And how u r connecting to Oracle (thru SVRMGR or SQL*PLUS) , what error u got.



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    6
    IN NT, if you open regedit.exe
    You can find the ORACLE_SID in the item of home0
    chineseboy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    46
    Originally posted by vutukuri
    Hi,
    Let me know your OS, Oracle Version. And how u r connecting to Oracle (thru SVRMGR or SQL*PLUS) , what error u got.



    we are using nt4.0 with service pack 5,oracle8.1.5
    in services it is showing as serivce started.once if we connect from sqlplus then it is giving the error

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    Check the status of the listener.

    > lsnrctl status;

    If your listener is not started,

    >lsnrctl start;

    If you are working on the host, then the listener should not matter because of the bequeath connection.

    Good luck.
    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    How many instances do you have? If > 1 then check current Oracle's home. And send Oracles' error message to forum.

    Originally posted by ravisanapala
    we are using nt4.0 with service pack 5,oracle8.1.5
    in services it is showing as serivce started.once if we connect from sqlplus then it is giving the error

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    236
    If your listerner is worlking fine, then start up server manager, connect as internal or any sysdba and issue command:

    startup open


    Nizar

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    119
    Hey have you started with startup mount pfile='path' ?
    OCP 8.0, 8i, 9i

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    317
    Startup Oracle manually from SVRMGRL.
    Thanks
    Kishore Kumar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width