RMAN register database problem
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: RMAN register database problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    8

    Question

    I,
    I have create one new instance of 8i database that content recovery catalog for RMAN.
    I have create a user rman, he have the connect, ressource, recovery_catalo_owner grants.
    When I connect to the tool RMAN there's no problem.
    But when i try to register a target database, there's problem.

    RMAN> connect target XXX/XXX@XXX

    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-04005: error from target database: ORA-01031: insufficient privileges



    I've create the database from system user, and create the user from system too.


    did someone can help me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    Try the following at c:\> prompt. . .

    RMAN target XXX/XXX@XXX catalog rman_db1/rman_db1@catdb

    BTW, were u able to create the catalog using CREATE CATALOG command?

    With regards.




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    8
    thank,
    I have already create the catalog with create catalog command.

    when I try your purpose I got alvways the same problem.
    did you have an idea.



    oracle>rman target xxx/xxx@xxx catalog xxxx/xxxx@xxxx

    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.5.0.0 - Production

    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00554: initialization of internal recovery manager package failed
    RMAN-04005: error from target database: ORA-01031: insufficient privileges
    oracle>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    236
    In think you have to connect to the target database as a user who has SYSDBA privileges.

    Do you have your server & RMAN running on the same server?

    Nizar

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    8
    I,
    i'm connecting to the target with the system account and my server and RMAN are one the same machine.
    What can you expcet more, I don't realy understand why did I have insuffisant privilege.
    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    Are u able to connect to the target db as sysdba apart from RMAN, using SQLPLUS?


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    8
    yes I abble to do that thing.
    so I don't realy know why I can't connect from within rman catalog to target database.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865

    Thumbs up Next Option

    If this is the case, yet another option is there;

    * Check the log when the catalog was created i.e., catalog.log for errors and

    *drop all objects and start from the beginning i.e.,

    1. Connect to catalog db(catdb) & create tbs(rman_tbs) for catalog

    2. Create RMAN user(rman_db1) with default tbs as of 1(rman_tbs)

    3. Grant connect, resource, recovery_catalog_owner to RMAN user.(rman_db1)

    4. Ensure space of 5M in rollback segment and 20M in catalog tbs (rman_tbs).

    5. At c:\> prompt type

    RMAN catalog rman_db1/rman_db1@catdb msglog=catalog.log
    create catalog tablespacerman_tbs;
    exit;

    6. Check catalog.log for errors.

    7. At C:\> type, RMAN target xxx/xxx@xxx catalog rman_db1/rman_db1@catdb

    8. register database;


    Hope this helps.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    8

    Thumbs up

    I have resolve my problem, I wasn't in the good env.
    know i'm in my target env and I connect to the cat in the other env.
    Then i just have the right to connect my target because I'm in the env of this one.
    thank again for all your hlep that have make me think to this solution.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    384
    Set the remote_login_pssswordfile=exculise and use the
    orapwd utility to create the password for internal .
    connect to the rman and then connect to target or recovery.
    otherwise users can see your passwords when u are connected ..
    Radhakrishnan.M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width