What objects are nessasary to analyze
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What objects are nessasary to analyze

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    203
    Hi Folks,

    what objects we have to analyze? I mean only analyze tables is enough, or other objects we have to analyze.

    I am planing to analyze only tables. Is it create any new problems. Thanks
    sree

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    If you analyze tables with COMPUTE option, it will also analyze indexes.

    In general, I use either dbms_utility.analyze_schema or dbms_utility.analyze_database to calculate my statistics. There is also a procedure called gather_database_stats in the dbms_stats package that you can use to gather your stats in parallel.
    http://technet.oracle.com/docs/produ...tats.htm#25656
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    362
    You should analyze both your tables and indexes.

    Also make sure that you dont analyze any of the system objects.


    Anurag

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    203
    Hi Marist89,

    I am analyzing the tables like this.

    ANALYZE TABLE SCOTT.EMP COMPUTE STATISTICS;
    ANALYZE TABLE SOCTT.DEPT COMPUTE STATISTICS;

    I have emp_idx1, emp_idx2 is there on the EMP table.So the above anlyze command will analyze the SCOTT.EMP
    indexes also. I am right. Just i am trying to make sure. Thanks
    sree

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Yes, correct.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    203
    ANALYZE ALL TABLES IN SCOTT SCHEMA WITH COMPUTE STATISTICS.

    EXEC DBMS_UTILITY.ANALYZE_SCHEMA
    ('SCOTT', 'COMPUTE')

    is same.

    Because i have two databases. On one i am running analyze command on all tables with compute statistics and another one i am exec the analyze_schema procedure.

    The same sql code is accessing this two databases. Is there possible to go wrong. I mean is there chances to dicrease the performance. Thanks.

    The size of the tables are almost same. The structure is same.
    sree

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width