DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: dbms_job

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    440
    How to run a sql script using the dbms_job package?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    245

    VARIABLE jno number;

    BEGIN
    DBMS_JOB.SUBMIT (
    :jno,
    'my_job;',
    SYSDATE ,
    sysdate + 1/24'
    );
    COMMIT;
    END;
    /

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    440
    no, this run a stored procedure in the database

    I WANT TO RUN A SCRIPT.

    EX:

    C:\THIS_IS_MY_SCRIPT.SQL

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    You can't unless you call some external or database-stored java function that in turn will run your OS script.

    But given it another though, why would you then use DMS_JOB at all? why not simply use OS scheduler (cron, at, ....)? DBMS_JOB is ment to use with stored procedures. OS scheduler is ment to use with OS scripts....

    [Edited by jmodic on 05-30-2001 at 05:27 PM]
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    440
    i dont want to use **** from nt or unix, i want to use oracle stuff.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Yeah, well then you'll have to rewrite your SQL*Plus scripts into stored procedures....
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    lol

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    i dont want to use **** from unix or NT ..............i was wunderin waht makes you say so..............always try to make things simple..................dont add complexity unnecssarily..........


    regards
    hrishy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    440
    ok, then how can i run a script from a procedure?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width