DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: To generate Redologs frequently

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    18
    Hi

    I want to carry out a test and need to simulate a condition so
    that redologs are generated at a very high frequency.

    What can be the best and easiest way to generate redo logs at
    a high frequency i.e to have Archive log writes frequency rate too high, less than 5min.


    Any ideas ?.

    Thanks
    CHEERS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Writ a procedure that would do a loop insert/update/deleter form a table(s). This would geneerate redologs


    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    217
    This can be done by setting the following parameters in the init.ora file:

    LOG_CHECKPOINT_INTERVAL - This specifies the interval in blocks between log checkpoints. Setting it to larger than the size of the redo logs allows checkpoints only when logs fill.
    LOG_CHECKPOINT_TIMEOUT - This parameter specifies the time interval between log checkpoints. Setting this to zero forces checkpoints only when logs fill.

    Chintz

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    1. Create a very small redo log files
    2. Generate a high transactions activity.

    Using only standard SCOTT schema will do, without even actually changing any database data. For example:

    CREATE TABLE scott.emp1 AS SELECT * FROM scott.emp WHERE 1=2;

    BEGIN
    FOR i IN 1..100000 LOOP
    INSERT INTO scott.emp1 SELECT * FROM scott.emp;
    UPDATE scott.emp1 SET empno=123*empno, sal=123*sal, manager='xyz';
    DELETE FROM scott.emp1;
    ROLLBACK;
    END LOOP;
    END;
    /
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by Chintz
    This can be done by setting the following parameters in the init.ora file:

    LOG_CHECKPOINT_INTERVAL - This specifies the interval in blocks between log checkpoints. Setting it to larger than the size of the redo logs allows checkpoints only when logs fill.
    LOG_CHECKPOINT_TIMEOUT - This parameter specifies the time interval between log checkpoints. Setting this to zero forces checkpoints only when logs fill.
    None of this two parameters have any influence on redo log generation... As you mention, they influence only on the frequency of checkpoints, which have no impact on the log switches or the amount of redo log generated.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    642
    How about switching the logfiles from the other session so that, the archive logs keep generating.Ofcouse, before the logfie switching, some dml should be performed.


    alter system switch logfile

    Badrinath

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    18
    Thanks

    JModic it worked. I appreciate it.
    CHEERS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width