Device error
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Device error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343

    Hi all,

    During my export process on Oracle 8.1.6 on Solaris, I get the folowing error :

    EXP-00002: error in writing to export file
    EXP-00002: error in writing to export file
    EXP-00000: Export terminated unsuccessfully

    Does anyone know what may be causing this problem ? The manual says it may be a device error ... ,but has anyone come across this.. Is it a space issue ?

    Thanks,
    Shiva.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    151
    permission? write/read....
    Elin@trend

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330

    device error

    I have come across sevaral times....What did all time is rerun the script during daytimes....It is working fine...
    We broke our head alot ...I found out during that time batch processes were going on...
    Simply rerun during daytime it will be fine.
    Thanks.
    thanigaivasan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    Hi Thanigaivasan,

    Thanks for your reply. Your strategy worked for me initially, but now I get the error no matter what time of the day I try to run the script. Is there any way to overcome this ?

    Thanks,
    Shiva.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Does your export run for a while and then get this error? If so, check the size of your export file and compare to your max file size for your OS (Probably 2G on Solaris).
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343

    No it just does an export of the 1st table, which has around 70 records and then gives me this error. It always stops at that point.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Did you try to export to another filesystem?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    Is it possible to export to a different filesystem in the EXP command ? How do I do that ?

    Shiva.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    exp system/manager file=/u09/oradump/xxx.dmp owner=xyz...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343

    I get the same error in every other file location.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width