Object does not exist....
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Object does not exist....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    Hi all,

    I created a table from Excel using SQL Server DTS on my Oracle 8.1.6 database. When I do a
    SELECT TABLE_NAME FROM ALL_TABLES WHERE OWNER = ' aaaa',
    I am able to see that particular table, but when I try to access it in my query, I get a
    'object does not exist' error.
    Does anyone know what is going wrong.

    Thanks,
    Shiva.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    151
    select * from owner.tablename
    if you are not log in as owner
    Elin@trend

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas:TX:USA
    Posts
    407
    is your query run by the owner of the table ? otherwise prefix the ownername...

    select * from aaaa.ThatTable;

    If this is the case, then you may think about creating public synonym for such objects.

    - Rajeev
    Rajeev Suri

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    I am logged in as the owner.
    I created a public synonym and it works fine, but I still like to know what may have caused the issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Was the table created with a mixed-case name?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    343
    No, it is all in lower cases.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    114
    hi,
    the table must have been registered in lower case while creating and that is the problem you are facing while you select.
    from sql server if you create a table with a lower case, u will face this kind of problem. For testing,Try a table in uppercase, then issue a select.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Yeah, that's your problem.

    Check this out:
    SQL> select table_name from user_tables;

    TABLE_NAME
    ----------
    XYZ
    XyZ
    xyz

    I have three tables, all with different case.

    SQL> desc xyz;
    Name Null? Type
    ----------------- -------- ------------
    X CHAR(2)
    Y CHAR(2)
    Z CHAR(2)

    without enclosing your table name in double quotes, it converts your query to use the upper case table.

    SQL> desc "xyz"
    Name Null? Type
    ----------------- -------- ------------
    X CHAR(1)
    Y CHAR(1)
    Z CHAR(1)

    You explicitly get the "xyz" table.

    SQL> desc "XyZ"
    Name Null? Type
    ----------------- -------- ------------
    X CHAR(3)
    Y CHAR(3)
    Z CHAR(3)

    You explicitly get the "XyZ" table.

    You have got to watch out for that on MS Office products...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width