German Character Set
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: German Character Set

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH, USA
    Posts
    378

    Talking


    How can I create a databas ethat accepts german character set? do I need to change the NLS_LANG parameter?

    thanks,
    Magnus

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    75

    German Character Set

    I have not done it myself, but I think all the information is in 'National language support guide'.

    Kailash Pareek

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    There are (at least) two options.

    First, you can create the database with character set WE8ISO8859P1 as the character set. The WE at the beginning stand for Western European. You can get the umlauts and double s (▀).

    Second, you can create the database with the default, US7ASCII and then issue a command to alter the character set. This works because WE8ISO8859P1 is a superset of US7ASCII.

    ALTER DATABASE CHARACTER SET WE8ISO8859P1;


    By the way, are you located in Germany?
    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Chennai.Tamilnadu.India.
    Posts
    658

    Solution

    Hi, 21st May 2001 11:34 hrs chennai

    Refer the oracle material from Technet on your issue explains in detail on the Geraman Charatcer setting.

    http://technet.oracle.com/products/o...q_combined.htm

    http://www.fors.com/eoug97/papers/0365.htm

    Cheers

    Padmam
    Attitude:Attack every problem with enthusiasam ...as if your survival depends upon it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    57
    Thats was really good URL u have suggested Padmam...

    Infact we out here experimented a lot in creating the database to support different languages and ended up studying plenty of info thats required...

    To get the required language support...of course we need to change the NLS_LANG parameter in the OS also which has some impact in character set selection and we created a database with unicode char set and saw to it we have the respective msb files to support the language required/...

    The second link u have shown us , really has plenty of straight forward info...

    Thanx Padmam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH, USA
    Posts
    378

    Wink


    We are located in Boston, but our parent company is in Belgium. They asked me to create a database that accepts the german character set, but still uses english.

    Thanks for the help.

    SO, I could alter database and use the WE character set?
    Would that only last for the session tho?

    - Magnus

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH, USA
    Posts
    378

    Thumbs up SURPRISINGLY!

    So, my current parameters were:
    NLS_LANGUAGE AMERICAN
    NLS_TERRITORY AMERICA
    NLS_CURRENCY $
    NLS_ISO_CURRENCY AMERICA
    NLS_NUMERIC_CHARACTERS ., NLS_CALENDAR GREGORIAN
    NLS_DATE_FORMAT DD-MON-YY
    NLS_DATE_LANGUAGE AMERICAN
    NLS_CHARACTERSET US7ASCII
    NLS_SORT BINARY
    NLS_NCHAR_CHARACTERSET US7ASCII

    then I issued the following test:
    SVRMGR> create table t1 ( name varchar2(5) ) ;
    Statement processed.
    SVRMGR> insert into t1 values ( 'HALLÍ' ) ;
    1 row processed.
    SVRMGR> commit;
    Statement processed.
    SVRMGR> select * from t1 ;
    NAME
    -----
    HALLÍ
    1 row selected.


    HOWEVER, it does not work when I query the table from my desktop (NT)
    so, why did it work at command line and not from sql/plus from my desktop? seems strange ...

    - Magnus

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    245

    my shop is make some software pakage and sell to multi-nations. we use WE8ISO8859P1 to care take it - same db set up for English, Germen, swiss, frence, most south america...
    so far, it works.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    6
    If your database is in us7ascii you need to change your database characterset to we8iso8859P1 .You can do so by creating a new database in new characterset and exporting and importing your existing database into your new database or if you are in 8i you can simply issue a alter databse statment to change characterset.The detail for changing characterset this way is available at metalink.oracle.com .

    Hope this helps,
    Ashu

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4

    Re: SURPRISINGLY!

    Hi,
    did you ever find out how to make your desktop sql+ show the characters properly?

    i've got exactly that problem now.

    thanks
    Adam


    Originally posted by jgmagnus
    So, my current parameters were:
    NLS_LANGUAGE AMERICAN
    NLS_TERRITORY AMERICA
    NLS_CURRENCY $
    NLS_ISO_CURRENCY AMERICA
    NLS_NUMERIC_CHARACTERS ., NLS_CALENDAR GREGORIAN
    NLS_DATE_FORMAT DD-MON-YY
    NLS_DATE_LANGUAGE AMERICAN
    NLS_CHARACTERSET US7ASCII
    NLS_SORT BINARY
    NLS_NCHAR_CHARACTERSET US7ASCII

    then I issued the following test:
    SVRMGR> create table t1 ( name varchar2(5) ) ;
    Statement processed.
    SVRMGR> insert into t1 values ( 'HALLÍ' ) ;
    1 row processed.
    SVRMGR> commit;
    Statement processed.
    SVRMGR> select * from t1 ;
    NAME
    -----
    HALLÍ
    1 row selected.


    HOWEVER, it does not work when I query the table from my desktop (NT)
    so, why did it work at command line and not from sql/plus from my desktop? seems strange ...

    - Magnus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width