Saving Database into CD-ROM
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Saving Database into CD-ROM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    83

    Question

    Hi. I need to put a very small Oracle Database (to be used for in house training) on to a CD-ROM, which will eventually be used to transfer the database into a laptop.

    No one I have spoke to so far have tried it, and I'd like to know if it is possible, if so how some of you might have done this.


    Thank you for you patience and help.

    Fiona

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    well I dont think itīs possible since Oracle writes all the time to the redo logs and control files (even there arent any transaction)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    83
    Would it be possible then to install 8i to the laptop and copy the database into it?

    Fiona

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    well you can but copy is not that easy

    you have two options

    1.- Clone a database, with this option you need a cold backup (preferred), a trace sql control file for recreating the control file in the laptop. With this option you can have different paths for the datafile and redo logs as long as you edit the trace sql control file

    2.- Copying a database, this is probably much easier if you dont have much dba knowledge the drawaback is your laptop must have same path for the datafiles, redo logs. You need a cold backup as well


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Kolkata- India
    Posts
    356

    Thumbs up

    Take a cold backup of yr "small" (cannot be more tha 700 m- CD capacity)database. Install Oracle8i in laptop. Copy the datafiles on the laptop. Try giving the same path name for al datafiles, logfiles etc. Change the ORACLE_SID in regedit. Trymounting the Database. Also the databse copied should have the same block size and o fthe same o/s as the target machine.
    If all is well it will work.

    But what I feel is if Databse is small then export import is best option.
    There Nothing You cannot Do, The problem is HOW.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Of course, with the cold backup solutions, you must remember that you have to be on the same platform for this to work. You can't copy Unix files to a CD-Rom and then copy them to a laptop running WinNT.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    19
    Hi,

    I have done this. I had cold backup of all the files even Password, Init File etc and my Database was hanging for some reason.

    I installed the Oracle again and copied back those files at the Original files and it worked fine. It had all he users, all the Objects etc there, this way I diod not lose any thing at all.

    Hope fully there should not be any problem as long you have same O/S and Character set in the Database.

    Please correct if I state some thing Wrong.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Itsn't easy to record a Zipped dump on to CD and unzip to import on to laptop and compile all the objects. All you need is recompile script to recompile all the objects rather taking care of the platform issues/file locations etc.

    Reddy,Sam

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width