Urgent - ORA-00106
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Urgent - ORA-00106

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    Question


    When I say

    SQL> shutdown immediate

    it gives me an error message
    ORA-00106 Cannot startup/shutdown when connect to a dispatcher.

    What does this mean? Please help.

    Thank you.
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    make sure that you have ORACLE_SID set in your env.

    Sql> connect sys/passwd as sysdba
    SQL> shutdown immediate;


    If this does not work then try,

    svrmgrl
    SVRMGR> connect sys/passed as sysdba
    SVRMGR> shutdown immediate

    BTW: The reason for that error was that oracle is looking for a dedicated connection instead of a shared connection.

    You have to have a dedicated connection established to startup or shutdown the database.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!

    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    47
    Try this using connect INTERNAL. Dont give the n/w connect string.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    I have 2 databases (tsdb and testdb) running on the same m/c. If I set the Oracle_SID to tsdb what is the outcome?

    BTW : I used svrmgr to shutdown the database. It worked fine.

    Thank you.
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    You would only shutdown the tstdb and the otehr one would still be functional

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!

    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82
    Sam,

    What will be the case when I use DBA Studio and the env variable Oracle_SID is not set?

    In my case the database went to an Unknown state when I tried to shut it down using DBA Studio. This happens only for one database. The other one is fine.

    Thank you.
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    check to see the any preocesses related to the instance are up?

    do a command prompt shutdown and see whether it get shutdown. Then start from the command prompt and see whether it comes up.


    BTW: do you still get to see your instance in the DBASTUDIO display? if so choose the instance and righ-click your mouse, then choose connect, there give user as sys and password and choose the sysdba option. That would connect you to the instance. Then choose the database under the instance and then right click to startup


    First try the command prompt and let me know the results. IF you encounter any problems, pl. check the alert_SID.log could be found under $ORACLE_BASE/admin/sid/bdump and let me know the errors.

    Sam

    [Edited by sambavan on 05-03-2001 at 02:49 PM]
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!

    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    82

    It works fine now. Thanks a lot.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width